FEMA/SBA Registration Center Opens in Gatlinburg for Survivors of Sevier County Wildfires

KNOXVILLE, TN –The State of Tennessee, The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) have opened a joint Registration Center to help residents affected by the recent wildfires in Sevier County register for federal assistance.


Gatlinburg Community Center
156 Proffitt Road
Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Holiday Schedule:                 

  • Friday, Dec. 23: 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 24: 9 a.m. to Noon
  • Closed Sunday, Dec. 25
  • Monday-Friday, Dec. 26-Dec. 30: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 31: 9 a.m. to Noon
  • Closed Sunday, Jan.  1, 2017

Post-Holiday Schedule (Beginning Monday, Jan. 2, 2017)     

  • Monday-Saturday: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Closed Sunday

Representatives from FEMA and the SBA will be on hand to:

  • Help survivors register for assistance;
  • Answer questions about the different kinds of assistance available, and;
  • Provide updates on existing applications.

Assistance provided by FEMA may include grants to help homeowners and renters pay for:

  • Temporary housing
  • Essential home repairs
  • Personal property replacement
  • Other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.

Registering with FEMA is required for federal aid, even if the person has registered with another disaster-relief organization.

Applicants will be asked for the following information:

  • Name as it appears on Social Security card
  • Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged home or apartment
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • A current contact telephone number
  • A mailing address
  • Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds.

SBA offers low-interest disaster loans for businesses of all sizes, homeowners, renters, and certain private non-profit organizations. SBA disaster loans may cover repairs, rebuilding, as well as the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged real estate and personal property.

Non-farm businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations may be eligible for up to $2 million to repair or replace business assets physically damaged by the disaster — including damage to buildings, machinery and equipment, furniture and fixtures, inventory, and other business assets.

In addition, small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations that were or were not physically damaged but which suffered economic losses due to the disaster may also be eligible for SBA economic injury disaster loans (EIDLs). These working capital loans provide funds for necessary and ongoing expenses until business returns to normal.

Renters may be eligible for loans of up to $40,000 to repair or replace their disaster damaged personal property.  Homeowners may be eligible for up to $200,000 to repair or replace disaster damaged real estate, plus up to $40,000 to repair or replace their disaster damaged personal property.

Disaster survivors may also register with FEMA the following ways:

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Leave a Reply